Invisible weight loss

Posted: 10/11/2011 in Running

I say invisible, as the scales aren’t registering any loss of weight. Perhaps I’m being a bit too keen, I’ve only been running for a couple of weeks, and if you added all the running up over that time, it’s still just over a half hour in total. However, I had expected to see something happen by now.

And that’s today’s star fact, I’ve now completed two full weeks of the thirteen week plan. I’m not dead, I haven’t snapped a leg, and I’m still on for starting week three. Bonus!

I read in a book that some runners have their most inspiring thoughts while pounding the path, and that may be so, but my brain contains too many pidgeon-holes, and the labels have all fallen off, so my thoughts (insightful or otherwise) tend to be a little more random. Like today, when I spend a while thinking about vampires. Not in a peculiar, dark or “hope they won’t get me” way, more just musing about the very idea of vampires. I won’t go into the details, as I don’t think I’ve reached the lofty philosophical heights of more seasoned runners, but for example I wondered how often they have to clean their teeth.

The middle intervals were the OK ones today, not sure if that was because I was distracted thinking about the fangs, or whether that’s some nebulous sign of improvement. I don know that the last couple were very hard, but eight intervals seemed much more do-able than nine.

I got a stitch again! So, that proves some amount of exercise was taking place at some point. I remember stitches from school, nasty things that (if I remember rightly) mean you have to run with your arm raised. Worried that I might be mistaken for a jogging Nazi, I figured I’d just make do with the stitch and keep going. I must look up and see if there is something to do about them, what they are, whether they’re something to worry about and how their nearest and dearest tell the apart.

My times are getting worse. Now, I know that time is not what it’s about at this stage, but that doesn’t mean that it’s not confusing. I was imagining my times would get slightly better, but that’s not the case. In my head (which is good at explaining these things away), I’m thinking that when I started, I didn’t have two weeks of running behind me, tiring my poor wee legs out, and that it will get better in time. However, I also wonder whether I’ll just gradually slow down, like a Duracell bunny with the dregs of power draining away, until I’m left like an idiotic statue on the mini-golf course (I run along the edge of one, I’m not suggesting they’d move me to one, like the worlds strangest obstacle).

Recovery time after a run seems to be a getting better, mind, and that must mean I’m building stamina, mustn’t it? Or maybe just becoming accustomed to the pain, so I don’t notice it so much. Either way, it’s a welcome shaft of sunlight in my otherwise fat, slow and aching world.

Indicators (using the GREEN, YELLOW, ORANGE, RED, BLACK terminology and a +/- to show movement):

  • Preparedness: GREEN
  • Motivation: GREEN
  • Ability: ORANGE
  • Aches: GREEN
  • Fitness: BLACK
  • Weight: BLACK

I reckon, if I got a red hat instead of the white one, I might be able to pull off a mildly convining Captain Scarlet impersonation – the colours match, and goodness knows my running is quite wooden… only he’s a bit thinner than me.

Comments
  1. Simmo says:

    Muscle weighs more than fat… So obviously you’re turning into a muscle machine. Keep it up!

    John

  2. Jo says:

    Loving your blog Dave , mmm now you’ve got me wondering about how often vampires clean there teeth .

    Jo

Leave a Reply

