Magic socks!

Posted: 17/11/2011 in Uncategorized

No, seriously, these socks are magic.

I’ve been suffering from stabbing pains in my shins a bit, and the consensus amongst the people-who-run is that this is shin splints. I’m still a little confused over the nature of the shin splint, but I know they’ve been getting on my wick, so I figured I should do something about it.

I’d heard that compession is good for that kind of thing – not in a 2000 Leagues Below the Sea kind of way, but compressing the limb that hurts you (which is still better than biting the hand that feeds you). So, I made a pilgrimage to the running shop, to gain mythical wisdom on all things compressive. The lady was most helpful – after apologising for what she was about to say, she pointed out that someone with “my frame”, like we don’t know what that means, they’d suggest shoes with quite a bit of padding. As if there’s enough padding in the world to deaden the tombstone impact of my bodyweight on my delicate wee pins. Apparently, though, I can go back, if I’ve got a half hour to spare, and they’ll watch me run badly before telling me if it’s my shoes, or just plain me.

However, she also suggested some compression socks, pointing out that you put them on like ladies tights, which didn’t really help my understanding any. Suffice to say, the things are tight, but feel like there’s some support in them, and they held my fragile calves all snug and toasty. That was good, but I suspect that has transferred the impact to my knees, which are currently on strike. Perhaps if I get something for the knees, it will move up again, and so on, until I’m totally covered in compressing fabric, with a huge amount of pair in the tuft of hair sticking out the top. Or it may squish me like an over-ripe grape, that would be my other worry.

Anyhoo, tonight was the end of week three, and a long ten-interval run. I felt pretty good through most of it – which was a surprise, verging on the feeling of athleticism once or twice, despite that being a walk 3:30 / run 1:30 style of athleticism – bet Paula Radcliffe would be jealous, but then again I haven’t felt the need to poo in the street (yet).

Indicators (using the GREEN, YELLOW, ORANGE, RED, BLACK terminology and a +/- to show movement):

  • Preparedness: GREEN
  • Motivation: GREEN
  • Ability: YELLOW
  • Aches: YELLOW
  • Fitness: ORANGE
  • Weight: RED (though that will go back to black tomorrow, as I couldn’t be bothered to cook at 9pm, so I’ve just had a nice take-away, thank you).
Comments
  1. kittykarate says:

    Definitely have your gait analyzed at the running shop – it can make a big difference to your running comfort.

Leave a Reply

