Love your doctor…

Posted: 23/11/2011 in Uncategorized

By dint of being neither a bone-quack nor a foot-quack, I find myself needing to refer to my GP as a quack-quack. So be it…

I went to see the doctor tonight; not my proper doctor, just the one who happened to be available. I took with me my achy shins, my painy knees and my seemingly happy, if allegedly cursed, feet. I was hoping to get a referral to a podiatrist to get me pins checked on the NHS, as I figure I don’t bother them often, I must be due something by now.

The doc examined my right leg – and I’m not saying that I’m susceptible to a bit of buttering up, but when he said I had “good muscle tone” in my calf, I was feeling like this man clearly knew his stuff, and when he declared me “not over the hill yet”, I was about ready to believe whatever came out of his mouth next.

I relayed my sad tale; the valiant hero, taking up running and facing Adversity from said shins and knees. I told him about the running shop and the suggestion that I needed a podiatrist to examine my pins. I may have mentioned insoles or ever pronation, and he took it all in his stride.

Then, like an avuncular uncle explaining that you can’t blow the top off your head by holding your nose and breathing out, he told me that this whole pronation / biomechanical / insole thing was a bit “unscientific”. I’m sure if he’d kept going, he’d have explained it was un-British and that it wasn’t what had won us an empire and made us mildly arthritic as a nation.

He explained (without using the terms “fat-lad” or “lard-arse”) that starting running is a jolt to the old muscles and that they’re bound to feel a bit creaky. He said inflamation was a common thing, and that a dab of common or garden anti-inflammatory gel applied beforehand was likely to perform wonders. He didn’t tell me to give it all up as a crazy dream.

And then, and this is the bit that won me over 100%, his doctorly advice was this…

“Really go for it over the next couple of months and it’ll probably be fine”. He did finish off with the old “if it doesn’t or if it gets a lot worse come back” which is a mild cop-out, but I’ve come out feeling quite patriotic – I can’t imagine Queen Victoria complaining about shin-splints or wanting insoles, so I’m going to take his sage advice see how it goes.

I now own my own tube of anti-inflammatory gel.

It could all be a terrible mistake…

Comments
  1. Brilliant! You did right to get it checked out and now you can go forth and wear your legs to stumps with impunity!!!!

  2. Too true. For the Empire!

  3. Allan says:

    I must admit I’ve been impressed with the ibuprofen gel it seems to be working after just a few applications he says! #runningforengland!

Leave a Reply

