So is it Christmas Eve yet?

Posted: 14/01/2012 in Uncategorized

I’m running tomorrow, and I have to say I’m a bit excited about it – it’s not a special run, or a new run, or a run-of-the-ancients, or any of those marvellous things. It’s a stomp around the country park, up a hill down a few times.

So why am I so excited about it, because I can tell you I am pretty bloody excited. It’s like Christmas Eve, and I want to get to bed so when I wake up it will be morning and I can get out and run (in the mud, that’s exciting too). How did this happen? I started out running because, quite frankly, I was overweight and I couldn’t be bothered to get my bike out the loft, and it was working out impossible to arrange a game of badminton. I had shoes, J had bought a book about beginning to run at some point in the past, and it was living (for some reason) on the coffee table, but seriously, me? I hate running – runners are mad and should be shot, or at least locked up so they can’t dirty-up the gene pool.

Now, I’m planning on running to work at some point soon, I’m entered in a 10k race in April, I’m thinking about the summer and running up in the lakes and wild camping, and I’m running out of excuses not to be thinking about longer distances this year (well, that’s not quite true – I’m thinking about longer distances, I’m just running out of reasons why I’m not planning them into what I laughingly refer to as “my training schedule”). I have a bag full of bits of running gear, and I actually looked in on a couple of sales to see if there were any running clothing bargains to be had. Anyone who has spent ten minutes in Newcastle with me knows that I hate shopping, but clothes shopping especially.

It’s not as though I’ve turned into Mr. Stick-Thin, of Muscle-Bound Avenue, either, to motivate me more. I’ve lost maybe a quarter to a half a stone. I think I’m a little thinner and there are a few pointy bits that I take to be joints which I’d not really noticed before. That doesn’t really matter any more, it’s more about getting out there and maybe getting a little better at running that’s the key – weight is a proxy for actual measurement (sorry, day job creeping in slightly – what does you weight tell you? How much you weight. Does it tell you how fit you are? No. Does it tell you how thin or otherwise you are? No. Does it mean much, other than as a hint towards other indicators? Nope, not a gol-darn thing).

I even watched the Edinburgh Cross-Country meeting on the iPlayer the other night – it was riveting, and I was thinking “I could do that” – maybe not as fast or as well, but I could, just you watch me.

So I guess I must be really enjoying running, that’s the only explanation I can think of why I’m wondering how long ’til bed time and why I’ll be running imaginary fell-runs as I doze off…

 

Leave a Reply

