Two birds, one stone, no ostriches were harmed.

Posted: 18/01/2012 in Uncategorized

Running a day late… no biggie.

There were two reasons I didn’t run yesterday, the main one being the sheet of ice outside the front door of my house – looked a little bit too smooth, shiny and daunting, so I figured nah.

Second reason was that I had to travel down to Leeds yesterday, which meant:

  • An earlier start than expected, as I had to drop-off at college
  • A half hour cramped on the Metro
  • An hour and a half cramped on the train
  • Eight hours in a less-than-stellar chair in a legal firm’s offices
  • An hour and a half cramped on the train
  • Half an hour cramped on the Metro
  • A quick bite to eat then off to bed

The repeated use of the word “cramped” probably explains why my thighs felt like achy rubber bands this morning. However, I was confident that a bit of a run would put all the right – the ice sheet had retreated too, so “outdoors” was back in the game.

Continuing the two-for-one theme, the best bits of running today were:

  • It relieves the tension and cramped-ness from muscles – s’nice
  • It gives a bit of time to organise the brain – a couple of things that have been bouncing around in the ol’ head for a few days took shape

I ran to Tynemouth and back, seven an a bit kilometers. It was a bit drizzly, but nothing bad, barely noticed it after the first interval. Tried the “relax it an it will go away” approach to aching calves, which seemed to work – think it’s not so much about avoiding tiredness, which seems impossible, more about embracing it and knowing what to do with it. Of course, that’s over 7km with a minute’s walking after every 5 minutes running, so maybe I’m not in such a lofty position to talk about tiredness.

I heard back from Medecins Sans Frontieres yesterday, they’re sending out some information and a running vest – now that’s exciting. If you haven’t noticed the “Sponsor Me” link at the top of the page, I figured it would be fun to try and raise a couple of quid for MSF when I run my first actual proper race, the North Tyneside 10k in April. Now I’ll have an actual MSF top to run in, which is all kinds of cool.

Took chia seeds with me again today – mixed a little less of them in with the water, as Sunday’s mix was more gloopy than soupy. Think I may have underdone it a little today, but it is pretty funky stuff – still never had a stitch with it, and no after effects. Also no odd aftertaste like with all the mix ’em up isotonic drinks I’ve tried.

Need to fit in another run, likely on Friday I guess before we reach Sunday and the start of Week 9 of the beginner’s course. Up to 7:00/2:00, I think.

Leave a Reply

