Harsh!

Posted: 05/02/2012 in Uncategorized

Brr! Bit nippy out today. Following yesterday’s snow and overnight freeze, I didn’t want to break my neck on the ice. So, I figured my trail shoes would be the thing, with their lovely big lugs to give a bit of grip.

That’s fine, but as they are also designed for off-road, They don’t have as much cushioning. The ice was a little thinner than I expected, so it was a bit of a heavier ride than normal, but not too bad, and I don’t think I suffered for it.

It wasn’t bad, crunching along, and with an extra base layer and a pair of shorts on top of my running tights to keep me nethers toasty, I was making good ground. Perhaps too good in retrospect, as I think I clocked a fast first interval. I was running on the verge quite a bit, and I think the uneven surface was my undoing. Part way through the second interval, my left calf started to ache – not in a damage way, just in an over-use way. I had to walk a couple of times, and by the end of that interval I stopped the clock and massaged the beggar in a “what makes it feel better” way. That helped a bit, but for the rest of the run I had to pull up on and off to give it a wee break.

The irritating thing is that this was the step up to 10 minutes running, which is a bit of an increase from 7, and I was hoping to spring like a young gazelle. I’m pretty sure it was just a one-off, but the next run is 20 minute intervals so I’m mildly apprehensive.

Also need to sort my toenails – one of the toes on my right foot has cut into its neighbour, and that can’t be good.

Leave a Reply

