The dangers of early morning running

Posted: 28/02/2012 in Uncategorized

It’s difficult to be aware of the things around you when you’ve only just got up…

When I left the house this morning, I could tell that something wasn’t right, but couldn’t quite put my finger on it – what on earth was it? Shoes were one, earphones were in, Runmeter was going, I hadn’t inadvertantly left the house naked.

I plodged along, watching the scenery flow fast …backwards?

That’s it, I’ve put my left sock on my right foot, and my right sock on my left foot, causing me to run backwards. Tch!

Was going to save that for the 1st April, but I knew I’d have forgotten it by then.

Today was the penultimate run of the 13 week programme, and a jaunty forty minute up to the Lighthouse, where the tide was well and truly in.

Sometimes, you just have to turn around and head back.

Not a bad run today, still a little sore in certain muscles after Sunday’s hill-a-thon, but as usual that passed after a bit of a jog about.

Next run is the final run, thinking I may give it ’til Friday, as I’ve got an early start on Thursday, and I want to enjoy my 10k.

Comments
  1. Plodged?

    Anyway, your routes seem more picturesque than mine, so I officially dock 45 seconds/mile from every run you do.

    Loving the blog Mr Bees.

    If that’s even your real name 🙂

  2. Mr. Along: harsh, but essentially fair.

    Of course my name is Mr Pursued by Angrybees – it’s a traditional German name, in much the way that ‘von’ is an acceptable part of a name.

    My wife, Harassed, and children Persecuted, Mobbed and Mildly-Followed-Home-Once all share my surname proudly as we go about the world. Whatever can you be insinuating?

Leave a Reply

