Special (10) K for breakfast

Posted: 02/03/2012 in Uncategorized

That’s it, the thirteen week beginning runner’s programme complete. Ok, so it’s taken sixteen weeks to get there, but I never said I was fast.

For the last run of the series, it was a simple 10km run, no intervals, no times, no pace. Just 10km. And it’s a bit of a reflection on what a change thirteen (ok, sixteen) weeks can make that it wasn’t a daunting proposition, just get out there and keep going.

I headed north up the coast, trying to take in as many of the places where bits of events have take place since 31st October 2011, amongst which were:

  • The route of my first run – at the time, 30 secs run / 4:30 walk, repeat eight times seemed quite a lot of exercise.
  • The gentle incline up to Seaton Sluice – where a three minute continuous run left me with tingling fingers and the sensation I was going to pass out
  • St Mary’s Headland – where I first realised that puddles can be fun, even when you’re an alleged grown up.
  • The mini-golf course – much time toiling around this when my knee gipped out early on.
  • The Promenade – I used to be a bit apprehensive about running this with it’s concrete flagstones, but it doesn’t bother my re-engineered limbs anymore.

And so on…

What to do now? Well, back to the sofa isn’t an option, I’ll tell you that. I’ve got the North Tyneside 10k coming up in April, the Blaydon Race in June, and I’m toying with the idea of the Hamsterley 10k or marathon in the autumn. More trail running, for sure, and a bit more of getting hill-fit.

So, this isn’t so much an end of the programme, more the beginning of longer, faster, stranger runs. That’s the plan.

Incidentally, I’m doing the North Tyneside 10k raising a few quid for Medecins Sans Frontieres – if you click on the “Sponsor me?” link at the top, it would be most welcome. Remember to Gift Aid!

Level Up!

Edit: thanks to Richard, who pointed out I’d initially said 16 wees to complete the programme. There’s been a lot of sweat, but I haven’t lost any other bodily fluids along the way.

Comments
  1. Evie says:

    Congratulations! Delighted to see you have made it to the 10k mark. I’m supposed to be hitting that target myself to day, but a dodgy knee may hold it off for awhile. Are you doing anything to celebrate your success? New piece of running kit perhaps?

    • Sorry to hear your knee is putting the brakes on your training – I had a couple of weeks like that, I was climbing up the wall.

      New kit, now that’s a good idea – been very much fancying a pair of Virbram Fivefingers, but will have to see how the old penny jar is doing before heading out.

Leave a Reply

