2 Atoms In A Molecule

Posted: 23/03/2012 in Uncategorized

– Noah and the Whale

A quick run along the Links this morning – nothing too out of the ordinary, though it is the first time I’ve worn my “Vegetarian Cycling & Athletic Club” vest for a run. Thank goodness it seems to fit quite well and doesn’t chafe, as it’s my weapon of choice for the upcoming “proper” runs when I’m not toting the Medecins Sans Frontieres vest when I’m being charitable. Was aiming to do a bit of speed…

Stats:

Time: 29:03
Distance: 3.43 miles
Av. Pace: 8:28/mile (flippin’ heck)
Climb: 82 ft

Look at that – 8:28 min/mile – where did that come from? I know I was chuffing along fairly briskly, but my usual pace is nearer 9:40/mile. I have this feeling that running pace is a bit like chemistry in school – you know how atoms can only have certain energy states and jump from one to the other? I think pace is the same – I can tank out a 9:40, an 8:50, and now an 8:30-ish. Not sure I could manage an 9:25 though – think my legs would get confused. Seems like depending on how hard I push and how I’m feeling, I get to one state or another and need to put more effort into jumping to the next.

Does that sound mad? It almost makes sense to me, some kind of link between heart, leg length and goodness knows what else. Biorhythms, I guess. 🙂

Comments
  1. Evie says:

    Fantastic! 😀

Leave a Reply

