Gunner Anderson, load them carbs!..

Posted: 06/04/2012 in Journal, Running

Friday. Good Friday. So good they had to give it a name so you’d know it would be good.

The North Tyneside Riviera. Bit cloudy, no rain, light breeze.

A palpable air of excitement hangs over the borough, or at least the parts of the borough that are:

  1. Awake
  2. At the coast
  3. Running
  4. Preparing for the 10km on Sunday

Normally when I run the coast, I might pass one or two runners, sometimes none. But this morning there must have been a good twenty or thirty hammering out different paces as I plodded towards Tynemouth. Can they all be preparing to turn out on Sunday? Could be…

When I first started running, I had no idea what ‘carb loading’ was. If pushed, I might have suggested it involved getting as many potatoes as possible on your plate at one of those Sunday-Roast-all-you-can-shovel carvery places, though if I was hopeful I may also have enquired whether drinking lots of real ale also counted – I still believe it must, mustn’t it?

For the last couple of weeks I’ve been living on a roughly 80% raw food diet, though that’s just a planning number. I’ve had the odd slip into Quorn burgers or chips, but mostly stuck to it. Lots of juice, carrot, apple, tomato with the juice of a lime is remarkably nice, and I’ve been (probably) irritating the heck out of colleagues at work by eating apples and bananas almost continuously. The theory being that if I’m going to fill myself up, it may as well be with healthy, fruity things rather than delightful tasty biscuit things, yes?

Anyhow, with the race on Sunday, and having read a little about the mystic art of carb loading, it seemed to me that the most technical aspect of the discipline is to be able to cook (or, I suppose, order) pasta. So I purchased some pasta, some pesto, a bit of cheese and some tasty bready thing. All cooked up and eaten for tea last night (sorry, that’s “dinner” to folk from further south). It was nice. I was very full. I wondered if this was a good idea or not – I don’t eat a lot of wheat even when I’m not on the raw food thing.

This morning, I got up, got ready and headed out.

And ran.

And ran.

And.. well, no, not quite that far, I’m not Forrest Gump after all. However, what was planned as a 6km last attempt to cram some learning into the ol’ muscle memory turned out to be a lovely 8km jaunt along the route of the race on Sunday – even went down (and back up) the hills for a laugh. So something was going right. Could it be the pasta-y goodness? Perhaps, so I may have another vast plate of Italian goodness on pre-race night.

Bit nervous about Sunday – first race and all, and worried that the excitement and such will lead to me heading off too quick. Still, got my Soleus 2.0 GPS, which is doing sterling work keeping me in the picture, so hopefully all will go well.

If you feel all generous and glowy, then there’s still time to sponsor me – see the “Sponsor Me?” tag at the top to get to my JustGiving page. Every pound makes me run just a little faster, so if I raise enough I’ll be in real danger of coming first…

Next report will be my first race report! Get in!

Stats:

Time: 46:40
Distance: 5.04 miles
Av. Pace: 9:15/mile – bit quick
Climb: 148 ft

Comments
  1. That’s amazing. Well done.

    Porridge is my fave carb, made with full fat proper milk with chopped fruit underneath and a dollop of Greek yoghurt – also full fat – and a teaspoon of honey.

    Good luck with the run – you’re going to do brilliantly by the sound of today’s performance.

  2. Jo Miller says:

    Good luck with the run from the Millers .Looking forward to your race report. 🙂

  3. Anita says:

    I like the sound of the porridge mix recommended by runslikeapenguin (great name!) – good luck and hope it stays cool but is dry for you 🙂

  4. Thanks all!

    Ms Penguin, that sounds like a tasty idea, I may give that a go as part of my non-raw extravagance… 🙂

    Jo (and the clan) and Neet, thanks both of you – got my gear all together and ready. Medecins Sans Frontieres vest washed and ready in the hope of good weather – it may not be the Geordie way, but I also have an MSF t-shirt just in case it snows, hails or there’s a rain of frogs…

Leave a Reply

