Knees – like elbows for the feet…

Posted: 20/05/2012 in Uncategorized

Ouch!

Bit of a wash today, but I’m getting ahead of myself…

Planned a 10 miler today, part of the training for my half marathon. For a bit of variety, I figured I’d run up to Cobalt, down to Silverlink, along the Coast Road and into North Shields to drop down to the Fish Quay. Then along to Tynemouth and back along the front. All sounded good, and the first three miles up to work went well. However, the constant slight gradient seems to have taken its toll – my left knee started hurting, and was hard to run on.

A little further on, and heading down to Silverlink I had to stop and walk for a bit, it was just too much to continue hoofing it. That improved after a bit, so I ran a little further. Then walked a bit.

I decided to cut the run short and head back the way I’d arrived, alternately walking and running.

Good points about today:

  • I was able to run/walk the way home, it wasn’t all walking
  • Nothing went ‘pop’, so I’m confident things will right themselves
  • The actual run to Cobalt wasn’t too bad, much easier than the last time I tried it, so I reckon running to work is more of a likelihood now

Bad points about today:

  • Knee – ouch!
  • It’s really frustrating not being able to run because it hurts – I wasn’t tired, out of breath, or lacking in motivation
  • I don’t appear to have won the lottery…

Used Runmeter for the first time in ages, as I took my phone along – realised when I was on the 10 miler last week that if anything was to go properly wrong I didn’t have any way to contact home. See the auto-entry below for details.

Leave a Reply

