Summer of lurve?

Posted: 05/06/2012 in Uncategorized

As a new runner, and having started out in the deeps of winter (albeit one of the mildest winters going), it’s something of a pleasant shock to be entering my first summer of running. I got a bit of a taste a month or so back, and hastily bought some shorts and vests, but it was short lived. However, the weather this morning was balmy and warm, no breeze and the North East coast was looking unusually magnificent, so I suited up in my most minimal clothing, strapped on a bottle belt and headed out.

There’s something fantastic about feeling the breeze play over your arms and shoulders as you move, and the warm kiss of the sun on your legs – granted I like the nice snug feeling of layers when the weather is a bit more gloomy, but when it’s warm it’s great. It makes me jealous of my daughter in South Africa, Sarah, who gets to run in the morning heat all the time (although I guess it rains sometimes, and maybe she’s acclimatised after a few years and doesn’t think it so hot).

Today was a day for a bit of enjoyment, my left knee/calf is still a bit conked, but I can run on it, and I covered the 10km distance that I’ll be repeating on Saturday for the 150th Anniversary Blaydon Race. The going was good, and the world was right – there was a tiny dog on the Links chasing a ball – it had to run to get ahead of the ball then body-block it to it. It was only a puppy, and kept dropping the ball on the way back, and having to run ahead and block the ball again. I had a bit of a giggle, and remembered how an upbeat feeling makes running easier – it was all a bit of a breeze from there, and I ended up running an extra bit beyond the 10km just for the heck of it.

I think I’ve been a bit concerned with all things limb-and-joint and taken my eye off why I really enjoy running – it’s important to remember to keep swizzling your head around to watch the world as you go by. Also, always say hello to other runners – don’t wait for them to say it first, or none of us will ever speak a word.

I almost got mown down by four cyclists on the headland who were seriously thinking about overtaking me on the last few metres of the trail which is razor thin. They thought better of it, and slowed for all of ten seconds ’til we’d all broken out into the car park. Even that didn’t spoil my mood.

Stats:

  • Distance: 6.68 miles
  • Time: 1:05.38
  • Average pace: 10’00” on the nose.
Leave a Reply

