5,000

Posted: 26/07/2012 in Barefoot, Injury, Journal, Parkrun, Running, Transition

A big thank you to anyone who has read my blog, hope you’ve liked it – at some point last night it passed the 5,000 views mark. Not bad considering I only started in November to keep a quick journal of how my “Beginning to Run” progress was going… I especially like that there’s people from around 50 countries seen this – maybe half of them were thinking it would be something else entirely, but looking at the map of hits still amazes me.

And what an auspicious time to be reaching 5,000 views, just as I’m effectively laid up with a bruised foot. I think it’s bruised, and I don’t think it’s fractured for the fact that it doesn’t make me scream when I put pressure on it, and also because it hurts less when I run that when I walk.

Last Saturday’s Parkrun was great, but I think I went a bit overboard on being the barefoot neanderthal runner, and maybe should have stayed off theย nasty-pointy-sticky rocks… I think standing on them has bruised the soft bits of my feet. There’s no mark of a bruise, but then I’m not a doctor, so what do I know?

A doctor (via Facebook) suggested that a tuning fork would settle the matter once and for all – if it was a fracture, then I would hit the roof when the fork was pressed against the bone, if not then I’d simply hum pleasantly.

Do you have any idea how difficult it is to find a tuning fork? Three days and no luck so far.

I ran a quick two miles yesterday – bit achy in the joints and muscles, but the offending foot was relatively OK – it’s a bit sore this morning, but still (I reckon) on the mend.

Not that I’m a sucker for punishment, but reckon it’s the Parkrun again on Saturday…

Comments
  1. John says:

    I like looking at which countries the visitors are from too. Hello to my Icelandic viewer ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Wonder if it’s the same Icelandic viewer I’ve got? Maybe we could introduce them and they could get married and set up some affordable accommodation for runners visiting their country? I’d be up for that…

  2. Four. ๐Ÿ™‚

    This is like Worpress-Country-Top-Trumps – you got any from Samoa?

  3. John says:

    I’ll swap your Samoa for an Oman, I’ve got a few of them lol.

Leave a Reply

