Greener is meaner

Posted: 28/08/2012 in Barefoot, Journal, Running

I just got home after selling a car. After years of owning a dependable old Honda CR-V, bought to brazen out the Northumberland winters, we figured that there were a few reasons to sell it:

  1. We don’t live in Northumberland anymore, but by the coast, where the snow is rarely as bad
  2. I work about three miles from the house which is highly run/walk/cycle-able
  3. It costs around £400 to service and MOT, another £250 for road tax  and a further £250 for insurance – that’s £900 a year before anything goes wrong, such as the £300 alternator we just had replaced
  4. It drinks diesel, and our other car, a Citroen C-1 is far more economical
  5. Mrs Angrybees and I took the C-1 to France earlier in the year, and it was no less marvellous than if we’d taken the CR-V, and much easier to park
  6. We want to be a bit greener

So, I took booked the car in at WeBuyAnyCar and headed down there – a ding on the rear passenger door meant a hefty reduction in the price, as I was told it needed the outer part of the door replacing, but after a chat with Steve and a call to his area manager as the car was otherwise in very good nick, another £100 was added to the price.

I have to say, it felt pretty good, divesting ourselves of something that we don’t really need. I can see there will be days that will require some compromise (Mrs Angrybees tells me she needs the car on Thursday), but you know what? I’m going to take a suit and such to work tomorrow, and I’ll run in and back. So that means that not only have we saved a cool £900 a year, but I’ve also booked myself some additional runs.I’m sure some of the compromises won’t be quite as jolly, but I figure it’s something to accept if we’re going to a bit more thoughtful about our place in the world.

So after selling it, what did I do? Well, I ran home, of course – about four miles and quite nice it was too. I picked up some dried cat food on the way back – I don’t think I’ve ever had quite so much interest from dogs as I jogged past. I felt pretty upbeat, maybe a little smug, and I figure I covered an OK pace. See, doing the shopping on my feet rather than behind a wheel. Granted that won’t work for the weekly shop (unless I invest in a wheelbarrow), but it does good for the bits and pieces.

I read a blog a little while ago form a lady who had decided that if a journey was runnable – i.e. there was a path to get there, and the time to run it, then she would always run. That kind of stuck in my mind, and I’m not saying that’s what I’ll do, but it’s not a bad line in the sand to be aiming for.

Statistics:

  • Distance: 4.01 miles
  • Time: 34’29″03
  • Average pace: 8’41” now that’s some good pace for me…
Comments
  1. Cool. I’m only about 5 miles from work and have thought about running or cycling, but the roads I need to take are treacherous. I’m still thinking about it.

    • Yup, it takes a bit of planning, I think. This is the third time I’ve run in since I started running last year – finally got rid of the need for a backpack, and ran with a few bits in a waist pack – much better.

Leave a Reply

