You, me and saving the world…

Posted: 11/09/2012 in Event, Journal

OK, so I missed the Hadrian’s Wall Half Marathon. I would have liked to be there, but sometimes you can’t always get what you want (but to quote the Rolling Stones, you might get what you need).

That said, I’m still totally on for the madness of the Kielder Marathon in October. Insufficient training and the lack of quitting the tabs could be a bit of an obstacle, but I’m determined to build up the motivation to get me round the reservoir.

And that’s where you, gentle reader, come in.

I know I tapped the world up in April for the North Tyneside 10k, and so I’m a bit nervous of pushing my boat out again, but if you felt like donating a fabulous pound to the marvellous folks at Medecins Sans Frontieres it would be beyond mint, it would be, well, mega.

http://www.justgiving.com/kielderdave

That’s the link to the page, I’m aiming for £50 with a month to go, partly due to seeing MSF’s current campaign to stop drug companies from forcing India to change its patent laws so they can “evergreen” their products – the art of changing something about the drug, dosage, combination, etc. to allow a re-patent and make lots of lovely bucks, thereby increasing the price of medicines and reducing their availability to people without the resources to buy them.

Hey, if I make £50 then bonus, if not then I may just have to cough up the rest myself…

Promise I won’t be back with a cap in my hand until I run The Wall in June next year – that’s a serious 69 miles of madness from Carlisle to Newcastle. I can’t avoid laughing when I think about it…

Hell, reach £100 and I promise I’ll stop the tabs, g’won, just try me…

Leave a Reply

