Running under the moon.

Posted: 25/11/2012 in Uncategorized

I haven’t done more than three or four miles at a go for a while (beer-fuelled midnight running aside), so I took the opportunity for six and a half mile loop up to Seaton Sluice tonight – the rain had left some immense puddles, and at one point ’round the headland I failed to notice a particularly magnificent pool in front of me, and ended up wading calf-deep before I knew what was going on. That was cold. And wet.

However, the best thing about the run was heading along the beach at Whitley Bay – the moon was out, and a bit of cloud, diffusing the light over the sands. I turned my head torch off and enjoyed the glint on the sea, the light on the water laying on the beach and odd sight of a ton of fishermen at the water’s edge, setting up for a night of bait-dangling.

One of the things I love about running is all the things you wouldn’t otherwise see – I’d have been a bit mad to wander along the beach in the dark and the cold, but with a pair of running shoes on it seemed the most natural thing in the world. At one point, I was running over a flat, wet bit of sand that was reflecting the clouds – it felt like I was running across the sky. So much, that I got a touch of vertigo at one point and had to give myself a stern talking to…

I need to figure out the whole running + camera thing, it was properly beautiful, and while it’s nice to have it in my head, a picture would have looked darn fine right here, I suspect.

Leave a Reply

