Picture this…

Posted: 14/12/2012 in Uncategorized

Prior to running, I took a lot of photos – you could find me at the beach as the sun rose, you could find me in the streets taking photos of people doing …stuff… and you could find me you could find me shooting weddings, something that I’ve discovered I really enjoy. However, running has put a bit of a brake on getting out early in the mornings to take photos, as I’ll more likely be found out pounding the paths and trails if the weather is good, marvelling at the beautiful sunrise without trying to capture it.

I also used to shoot a fair number of self portraits, for two very good reasons:

  1. No one else that I know is happy to hang around and have their picture taken, so you’ve got to work with what you’ve got, right? Also, selfies take a fair bit of discipline to get right, as well as some thinking about how the heck you focus on yourself…
  2. I did a 365 – that’s a project where you take a photo every day for a year. It makes you get into the groove of finding something random to take a shot of, setting up, taking the shot, put away and edit. Every day. When you’re thinking “what’s here?”, quite often the answer is “my head”.

Anyhow, I haven’t done much of that over the last year, but last night I cracked out a light and my camera and set up. This was the result:

A year in the making 600

Yup, can’t get away from the running, eh?

Comments
  1. Lovely photo, but for some reason I can’t look at it without singing “mama… Just killed a man…”

Leave a Reply

