Woodlawn Pudding Run – 26th December

Posted: 26/12/2012 in Event, Running

A run involving puddings, why not? After the Christmas Eve “running-with-pies-and-beer”, it seemed like the right thing to do.

It was raining – proper raining, not just some light drizzle, and I immediately regretted not having brought a hat with a peak – wet glasses stop me from seeing, and there’s nothing much to do to get them clean again. It stopped for a bit then got underway again. Still, as Jay says, “there’s no such thing as bad weather, just inappropriate clothing”…

I ambled down for 10am, the run wasn’t starting until half past, but I had no idea how registration (on the day) would work. As it turned out, there were a lot of people, a bus stop had been borrowed for the morning and the registration was running quite smoothly. Picked up my number (and some safety pins – well done there) and suddenly I was 386. Back to the start area, and a pre-run wee in the unisex-for-a-day toilets (no idea why that happened, but it did) and ready for the off. I bumped into Colin Winter, one of the stalwart Parkrun organisers for a wee chat.

Time for the off – there looked like around 600 runners I’d guess, we’ll see when the results come out – off went the start alarm and we were away. I had been a little worried that I had no idea of the course, but I shouldn’t have worried, there was no chance I was going to be at the front of the pack. 🙂

Along to the skate park, down onto the prom and along the top of the beach – turn back at the top of the prom and along the top of the embankment. That takes us back to the start again, and I was feeling pretty good – holding my own in the pack and maybe making up a place or two as I went.

Back past the start, and on along the prom and on, and on, and on and so it went – how far does this go, exactly? To the bottom of Rockliffe, if turned out, and along the lower prom, back up and a sharp u-turn to head back to the finish. A nice romp along the path back along the top, and my newly non-smoking lungs were working something of a dream, no feeling like I was about to pop a lung out, or that I might start breathing fire…

Into the finish straight, and over the line. A look at my watch suggested just over 24 minutes, at an average 7:53 min/mile pace – something of a shocker, as I didn’t feel I’d done spectacularly well – perhaps my newly healthy approach is paying off already?

Goody bag included a Christmas Pudding, how fine is that?

Leave a Reply

