And I would run five hundred miles (well, eventually)…

Posted: 31/01/2013 in Uncategorized

RunRun

It’s appeared suddenly, I thought, though on reflection I think it’s been building for a few days, maybe a week.

At the start of January, I put a mile counter on my blog and started tracking how many runs and how far.

Around the weekend, I realised I was in the top eighties, so a bit of a push and I could feasibly top 100 miles in January.

Of course, there’s no reason to do that, it’s an arbitrary total, and I’d figured 1,000 miles in 2013 would be a good target but here I am now aiming towards 1,200 already.

Still, it’d be nice, wouldn’t it?

So, I’ve run every day this week, from short distances to a bit longer, often running at 9pm so as to spend a little bit of time with the family at least.  I ran to work today, and to be honest it was a bit hard after a few days literally on the hoof. Still, I had a running-date with Jon, and after a few false starts at getting out on the trails with Jon I wasn’t about to pass it up.

By the end of work, infused with an amount of carb-loading (can you say Mars Bar?) I was ready for the off.

Off along the Waggonways and head torch on – I’m coming to appreciate the Waggonways more and more – they just go everywhere in the Borough, and off along the Wednesday Lunch Club route. Under the bypass and we’re into the countryside, running the trail to Earsdon. Bit muddy, and a few detours around the wetter bits to avoid the ankle deep water. It’s lovely running at night in the (relative) countryside. You can see the stars, you can hear the wind (not that it was a problem today – what’s with the gales). Into Earsdon and off towards Monkseaton – detour through the houses, then down onto the road toward the sea – to the coast, along to the Spanish City and job’s a good ‘un. Ace time running with Jon, we turned out a decent pace and managed to keep up a chat. Properly looking forward to the next time we can get out.

So, where did I end up? Well, with the 6.1 miles from running home with Jon, I’ve totalled 105.9 miles, so over the 100. Hurrah! If I’m going to do it again next month, I’d better sort myself a bit earlier instead of leaving it to the last minute..

Also, I’ve been following Marathon Talk’s Jantastic challenge and have managed to complete my 3 runs each week. Next week is the start of Febulous, and I need to run 3 per week and 11/12/13/14 miles for my longest run each week. Here we go… 🙂

Comments
  1. That Jon bloke sounds like a cool dude – great run with an even pace (except for that clarty bit at Earsdon)

    • He’s a roister-doisterer and all round good egg. Bobby-dazzler shoes, too. Cracking time and any excuse to get out the head torch is a good excuse. Wonder if we could get the street lights turned off for Earth Hour and run about with head torches on? That would be fun…

Leave a Reply

