Wind yer neck in!

Posted: 18/02/2013 in Uncategorized

Not running related, but was pleasantly surprised, OK astonished, to find out that my neck is 1.5″ smaller than it used to be. I’m not sure how many things revolve around the size of your neck. Maybe it’s a hot topic when hangmen get together for a brew, perhaps bow-tie makers get all sweated up about it? Other than that, I can’t think of any other professions that would be too fussed.

When I started this path of the run, I took a 17.5″ shirt – for those not in the know, men’s shirts are measured in neck-sizes. Odd, I know. Is there some kind of neck-based-golden-mean rule that says “the size of the neck is exactly half the size of the waist” (not that that’s true, though I wish it was).

That’s 8.5% smaller than it used to be…

At the weekend I needed to get some new shirts as I was risking being mistaken for someone going camping if I sat on the grass. Slightly bemusedly, I got the chap in M&S to measure my neck – it’s a very weird experience, let me tell you. However, he came back with a 16″ measurement. Result! So I now proudly own a handful of shirts that actually fit me, and Mrs. Bees now has a stack of shirt-based material squares for crafty pursuits. I was wondering if she might make me a patchwork shirt out of actual shirt material. Professional and backwoodsy, I can only feel it would have folk in awe of my groundbreaking sartorial style.

Did I mention they were “slim fit” rather than “regular”? Didn’t think so, but they were.

Comments
  1. james says:

    I see your shrinking neck and raise you growing feet!! – 11.5 to 13/13.5! WTF??!

  2. Sounds like you might need to see a doc, James. 🙂

Leave a Reply

