Nightrunning

Posted: 20/09/2013 in Laughingly Called Training, Randoms, Running

A little bit like your own Blair Witch Project, a night run in the woods is just the thing to get your adrenaline going.

I’d forgotten the fun of night running, and I’ve only tried it in the woods once before. There’s something very immediate and personal about it. Certainly a little scary – the couple of times I ran past other people; one time a group of mountain bikers, another time a young gent and his lady friend, I felt a little twinge of worry that I would never have felt in the light.

It’s helped by having a head torch, you can only see a little way in front of you, the rest is pitch black. As the light is pretty much next to your eyes there’s no  perspective from the light – if there’s a dip you can’t always see it. Hard to spot mud too I found out.

In short, it was fantastic and I’m keen to get out there again. Soon.

Comments
  1. rundontrun says:

    You’ve tempted me to try this. It’s also an excuse for a bit of running-related retail therapy. Do you have any tips when it comes to buying head torches?

    • My limited head-torch experience days that a 2-mile gazillion candle power beam is not important unless you want to do needlework while you’re running. I have a Silva Trail which isn’t the most powerful available by any means and use it on half power most of the time. I like the wide spread it gives, which means you can see bit more of the surroundings.

Leave a Reply

