Early or late Christmas present

Posted: 16/12/2013 in Event, Running
Tags: , , , , ,

It could be early, because it’s sorted out already, or late because it’s not happening until May. 

ROAD TRIP!

In a fit of forward-looking excitement, I’ve booked up to run the Kintyre Way in May 2014. Because I’m not totally deluded with my speed or ability to climb big hills, I’ve entered the half-ultra, at a very reserved 35.5 miles, starting from Tayinloan at 9:30am and running to Campbeltown with a cut-off of 9:00pm. If I go a bit wrong in the mean time, I can change to the full-blooded 67 miles and get an extra three and a half hours, starting at 6:00am from Tarbert. At the moment, I don’t think I’ll be changing up to the longer run, as it’s going to be a bit of a Team Angrybees full-scale outing.

I’ve booked us into the Ardshiel Hotel for a few days before, and we’re going to make a bit of a holiday of it – while we lived in the Borders for a few years, it’ll be the first actual holiday we’ve had there since our honeymoon. Fingers crossed for lovely weather and marvellous sunsets.  Ardshiel Hotel won the 2013 Scottish Field Whisky Bar of the Year award, so I’m thinking there may just be something to do if it does rain of an evening.

As the Kintyre Way is part of the Scottish Ultra Marathon Series, along with April’s Glasgow to Edinburgh Ultra and the Jedburgh Three Peaks Ultra that I ran back in October, that gives me enough runs to get a final score. When the first set of results came out a week or two again I was pleasantly surprised to see that there were a few folk between me and the end of the list – I knew there were a couple who finished behind me at Jedburgh, but there’s now a good 17 folk separating me from last place.

Oh yes, Campbeltown is also the home of the Springbank Distillery. 🙂

Leave a Reply

