2013 Roundup

Posted: 31/12/2013 in Laughingly Called Training, Running

Well look, I haven’t really done a lot since I did my two-year round up back at the start of November – if you want to see what that was all about, it’s here for all to see.

What I have done is come to the end of my 1,000 Miles in 2013 Challenge. It was big enough to warrant capitals, it really was. At times it looked promising – my first three months were all over 100 miles and for a moment I thought I could get to 1,200 miles. After that, and with a move of house things went a bit downhill. April just made it past 50 miles. May was better. June was shocking, only making it over 100 miles because I ran my first ultra and added 69 miles to the total.

As we wheeled into December I needed just under 100 miles to get there. And guess what, I made it! On December 31, I got up early, wandered out and trotted off 10 miles to get me just over 1,000 miles. Wahey!

So what next for 2014? Well, I’ve got a couple of ultras booked in – Glasgow to Edinburgh in April and the Kintyre Way in May. I’m hoping to get a place in the Marathon du Medoc – a marathon through French vineyards, with wine-tasting on the way. 🙂

Right now, it’s a bit of a rest – my left tendon is a bit wonky, and a few days off should see it right.

Have a great new year everyone – hope it’s runny.

 

Leave a Reply

