I’d rather be a deer than a little duckie… \’o’/ \’o’/ \’o’/

Posted: 10/01/2014 in Ailments For The Runner About Town, Injury, It happened in the night, Laughingly Called Training, Running
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

(to quote Blackadder)

A short run tonight, part of the Jantastic challenge. I’m down for the minimum 3 runs per week and trying to rest my wonky left achilles tendon as much as possible. Reading up on the internet, it seems avoiding hills is a good thing, which is about impossible where I live, being, to coin a phrase, hill country. However, there are a couple of flattish trails in the woods, and I can run along one, turn around at the end and then run a loop back that ends up back at the turn-around point. One mile to the start, a two mile loop that I repeat twice and then a mile back out for a total of just over six miles. Slowly.

The tendon is still sore, but there’s not much to do about it. I tried a week off in the last week and that didn’t make much difference, so I figure some light running would be OK. I might be wrong, only time will tell. In general these things seem to get better if I take it a bit easier.

Anyway, as I was plodding around through the mud, I was thinking that I’d not seen a hair of anyone or anything while I was in there, when I was on the last bit of the trail to the road out. Three pairs of eyes in front of me right on the path. They didn’t move as I got closer, and I was able to see them clearly, I had to slow down or I would have mowed through the middle of them. As I came to a halt, they seemed to take that as I sign that I might be trouble and wandered off to the side. On the other hand, they may have been thinking that they didn’t want to risk me tripping over them. Who knows. I’ve noticed that my other friends in the woods, the crows, are also less bothered about me now – they’ll sit at the side of the road and watch me plod past. I think it’s become a bit of a spectator sport now, “watch the plodder”, and I don’t think I can blame them. Or maybe I’m becoming some kind of hairy-arsed stumbling shaman, and the animals will mob me at some point like their new special friend? Only time will tell.

Comments
  1. sarahdudek80 says:

    Wonky Achilles, ugh I know the feeling. Take it easy and feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

