Peanut Butter epic fail.

Posted: 22/02/2014 in Food, Laughingly Called Training, Running, Vegan
Tags: , , , ,

NOTE TO SELF: Never, ever, ever attempt to eat peanut butter mid-run again. It is a bad idea. We shall call this afternoon’s run “The Peanut Butter Experiment” for the purpose of this post, then we shall agree to never, ever mention it again in polite company.

Seriously, I thought I’d experiment with mid-run fuel tonight, and having found some individual-portion pouches of organic crunchy peanut butter in Sainsbury, I figured that would be a good plan. All that vegan goodness, it couldn’t go wrong, could it?

img.php

It was not a good plan.

Frankly, it was one of the worst plans I’ve ever come up with, and that’s saying something.

Firstly, it was virtually impossible to eat. The stuff does not play ball in coming out of the packet. I think that’s the ‘crunchy’ coming to the fore.

Secondly, it sticks to the inside of your mouth like glue. You simply cannot carry enough water to swill it out.

Thirdly, it somehow sucked all the running ability out of me and left me walking through the woods back to High Spen – I’m claiming this is “not my fault’, OK I’d run 17 miles by that point and was ‘a little tired’, but clearly that can’t be it, right?

Consider yourselves good and warned.

Next time: deep-frying tofu on-the-move.

Comments
  1. Rainy Writer says:

    Heh … being new at running … I even have a hard time drinking water without coming to a stop!

    • When I started, I had dreadful problems with drinking water and getting stitches. I’m over it now, but what I found worked at the time was using chia seeds, left to soak overnight, which turn the water to more of a gel. They’re a good nutrient as well – with a squirt of lime juice quite refreshing in the summer. Mind, they do look like frog-spawn… 🙂

  2. james says:

    peanut butter – for running??? ouch!

Leave a Reply

