Glasgow to Edinburgh Ultra Marathon

Posted: 24/02/2014 in Event, Running
Tags: , , , , , ,

WARNING: OK – this is a bit of bothering-you-for-a-quid post, so if you’re not up for that, I’d move on to the fun bits about unfortunate peanut-butter or my staggering bad drawing skills. 

On April 5th, myself and my partner in crimes-against-running, Jon, are signed up to run from Glasgow to Edinburgh in a day. It’s long, it’s going to be hard and it’s going to be good. Hopefully the good bit will far outweigh the hard bit – so far my ultra-running has come out with a positive balance. If you’re excited at the prospect of 55 miles and two magic cities, you can read about it here.

Last year, I promised I’d only bother people for money once a year, and so this is it. For this jaunt we’ve decided to raise funds for Age UK North Tyneside – we both work in North Tyneside, and Jon lives there and I did until recently. It feels like a good cause, advocating for older people that we’ll all hopefully get to become, with a little luck.

images-2

As ever, we know that raising a pound or two will ease the aches and pains, and so we’ve set a target to raise £300 for this little escapade. With just over a month to go we could use a bit of help to get there. If you click on the image above, it’ll take you straight to the page where you can spot us a quid.

So, if you can spare a pound, we’d be massively grateful – heck it may even spur me on to write even more rambling nonsense about it afterwards. To be honest, I don’t need spurring on for that, but I reckon miles 30-45 will be tricky and a bit of motivation will be welcome then.

Right, back to stories about being mugged by hedgehogs now, normal service is about to be resumed…

Leave a Reply

