Reset the clock!

Posted: 13/12/2014 in Journal, Laughingly Called Training, Running

Back to Day Zero!

Seriously, I felt so unfit plodding around this morning – I have no idea why (other than lack of fitness, which is my current guess). It was the bit where I run up a long, medium incline of about a mile and 300 feet in total, and found myself stopping for a sneaky walk three times. I’m not even sure why; a body-sub-section analysis led to the discovery that my legs weren’t that stiff, my lungs weren’t especially burning and my arms weren’t entirely knackered. My brain just decided I was done in and a bit of a walk was the best option thank you.

Ok, so statistics-wise I may have put on a half stone over the last few months, and that may need some shifting – when I did the Parkrun last week I could feel the flesh on my back moving, something that I’ve not encountered since the first few months I ran, and considerably heavier than I am, even with the extra half added in.

I haven’t been running a lot the last couple of months in truth, not since the Jedburgh Ultra which left me customarily tired. Maybe the odd Parkrun and one of two jaunts to the woods, but nothing that feels like training, and as 2015 is supposed to be the year of striving, that feels like a pretty poor start.

What this needs is a spot of commitment, I reckon, in order to get me back on the track – my plan is simple, and it’s this:

Each week I will run at least twice. Each run will be at least three miles in length.

There you go, that wasn’t so difficult was it? Well maybe not, but look at the blank weeks stretching back where even once-out-of-the-door has been too much of a slog.

Comments
  1. Jay says:

    Ugh. I know that feeling all too well my friend. Going through a wee bit of a slump myself at the moment, and hating the feeling that I’ll have to work my arse off just to get back to something approaching the level of fitness I had before.

    Spookily enough, I’ve had an unfinished blog post hanging around in limbo for a couple of months called “my lazy brain”. Basically lamenting the way my mind has started urging me to walk, even when I can feel my legs and lungs brimming with energy.

    • Double trouble – a blog post about not being arsed to run. 😃 In praise of your reviews, thinking about getting a Beastie to see if it’ll help with a frozen shoulder (not mine, thank goodness).

Leave a Reply

