It’s like Romeo and Juliet…

Posted: 02/09/2016 in Uncategorized

I’m a runner.

Proud to be a runner. 

Glad to be a cheery runner, who says “hello” and “morning” to other runners, walkers, cyclists and the world in general.

I’ve probably moaned once or twice where I’ve “morning”ed a cyclist and they’ve not responded. Miserable buggers.

Now I’m commuting by bike I do the same, “hello” or “afternoon” to all and sundry. Other cyclists are pretty good, a nod of the head from the other side of the road is international cycle-sign for “get us, what are we like”.

Except the runners. Runners don’t respond to me on a bike.

They do when I’m running but not when I’m cycling, and vis-versa with the runners.

It’s like Romeo and Juliet, two clans that will never meet.

Except I’ll keep saying hello to both of you.

Comments
  1. adamausten says:

    I only run, but always try to say ‘hello’ to anyone I see out and about. Most runners (but not all) say hi back, but less than half of cyclists do… It must be a tribal thing. But if we keep doing it maybe more people will respond, and it will filter out across the divide 🙂

Leave a Reply

