The Indian Pacific Wheel Race 

Posted: 21/03/2017 in Uncategorized

Link to the Indian Pacific Wheel Race here
I’ve been watching this ultra-bike race across Australia since it kicked off at the end of last week. It’s an astounding thing, with distances that boggle my mind even after tracking the Transcontinental as it wound across Europe last year.
In the back of my mind I keep coming back to thinking about a coast to coast ride, from Whitehaven to Tynemouth, which is around 100 miles. Is it possible (for me) to just start off and ride it, without breaking for a snooze? Mind, my Strava profile reveals the truth – longest bike ride to date is 20 miles.

Watching the Indian Pacific Wheel Race and the distances covered there day after day I feel a bit of an idiot – clearly I’m not in the same league as Kristoff Allegaert, Mike Hall, Sarah Hammond and the other racers, but it makes 100 miles (say 160km) in one go seem fairly ‘normal’.

Muse… muse… muse… 

I’d love to ride the Transcontinental too, that’s something to aim for.

Leave a Reply

